Skip to main content


U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School Award

Twain elementary school won the 2014 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School Award. The acting Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality, Mike Boots, joined U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan in announcing the winners in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes exemplary efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, promote better health, and provide effective environmental education.


The Twain Green Team engages 35 percent of students but reaches the entire school community. A monthly "Bottles and Cans Day" earns the school $2,500 annually in recycling income. Twain is an American Heart Association Teaching Gardens School and is Energy Star certified.


“Our Green Team and our entire school community deserve this prestigious honor,” Twain Principal Ellen Ryan said. “Twain’s dedicated parents, students and staff have worked tirelessly to save energy and reduce waste, for instance, diverting 85 percent of lunchtime trash from landfills. In the meantime, our students are learning valuable lessons about protecting the environment.”

California Distinguished School

In 1997, 2002 and 2006, Twain was recognized as a California Distinguished School.

The award honors some of California's most exemplary and inspiring public schools. Schools selected for the Distinguished School Award demonstrate significant gains in narrowing the achievement gap. After receiving this high honor, a school must wait four years to be eligible to apply again for recognition. To learn more about this prestigious award, visit the California Department of Education's website.

U.S. Blue Ribbon School of Excellence

Mark Twain School was one of only 266 public and private schools to be recognized as a 1998-99 U. S. Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. Furthermore, Twain was one of only six schools in all of Los Angeles County to receive this recognition.

To achieve our nation's highest honor, Twain demonstrated sustained excellence over a minimum of five years in eight areas, including:

    * Student Focus and Support
    * School Culture and Organization
    * Challenging Standards and Curriculum
    * Active Teaching and Learning
    * Professional Community
    * Leadership and Educational Vitality
    * School, Family, and Community Partnerships
    * And Indicators of Success (test scores)

Schools may not apply more than once within a five-year period to be eligible for this award. Visit the U.S. Department of Education website and learn more about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program.

Campaign for Business and Education Excellence Honor Roll

Twain Awards Announcement

green ribbon schools logo
California Distinguished School Logo
1999 National Blue Ribbon School Logo